The Nattering Nabobs of Negativism


A well-known figure in the political world once coined the phrase “nattering nabobs of negativism” to refer to habitual naysayers. People will conjure up any number of excuses not to choose wealth, excuses that say more about their inner thoughts than about the difficulty of achieving wealth. Are you a nattering nabob of negativism? Take a look at these excuses, and see if any sound familiar:

“I can’t give up a regular paycheck.”

“Invest? You want me to lose all my money, don’t you?”

“I don’t have any money to invest.”

“I tried that before. It’ll never work.”

“I don’t need to know how to read financial statements. I can get by.”

“I’m not smart enough.”

“My husband would never go for it.”

“My wife would never understand.”

“What would my friends say?”

“I’m young. I’ve still got time.”

“It’s too late for me.

“You can’t do that.”

I am from the beautiful country of Trinidad and Tobago, home of the best Carnival the world has to offer. I am from a very poor background and I think were the poorest in our village. When I look back on my life I can see that there is an invisible being who have been guiding my life and bringing me to where I am today. Even though life has been tough at times I was like a baby going through the stages of growth and the parent (the invisible hand) being there to brace my falls so I would not be hurt really bad. Both parents left us when I the oldest sibling was 16 years old. I migrated to the US in 1990 and I was never satisfied with a life of working at a regular job, I know there are better opportunities.

Posted in Blog
One comment on “The Nattering Nabobs of Negativism
  1. Sarah says:

    Some times in life we need to make sacrifices if we want to achieve somthing, and thinking that way would always hinder you form it… How can you know if you could do something if you don’t try and always negative……. prepare prayfully, persue prayfully, everything you do keep a pray before you and all the negitve would leave you

Leave a Reply

